Singleton to direct NWA movie? -x- DJ Drama’s Third Power -x- Juvenile and Mannie Fresh Reunite -x- Gaga Calls on Obama -x- MTV Music News







A biopic about West Coast rap group N.W.A. has been in the works for some time and now, Ice Cube has been named as one of the producers along with John Singleton, who might direct the film. In an interview with The Playlist, Singleton said that he has been in contact with Cube and added that the script is “really really good.” No further details are known at this time.

· Do you think the movie will be a success?

SOULJA BOY READIES NEW DOCUMENTARY reports Soulja Boy’s documentary is coming out next month. The flick, titled Soulja Boy: The Movie, follows the “Crank That” rapper as he goes from an unknown rapper to a platinum-selling talent. Fans can expect the movie to be released on October 18th through Image Entertainment.


According to his official website, DJ Drama has unleashed the tracklisting for his upcoming third studio album, Third Power. Led by “Oh My” featuring Fabolous, Wiz Khalifa and Roscoe Dash, the disc will be available on October 11th. Here’s who made the cut:

1. Oh My Ft. Fabolous, Wiz Khalifa & Roscoe Dash

2. Rough Ft. Freddie Gibbs & Young Jeezy

3. Hand Of God Ft. Maino

4. Oh Baby Ft. Cam’Ron, Vado & Jaz

5. Never See You Again Ft. Wale & Talia Coles

6. Lay Low Ft. Meek Mill, Young Chris & Freeway

7. Ain’t No Way Around It Ft. Future

8. Undercover Ft. J. Cole & Chris Brown

9. Everything That Glitters Ft. Pusha T & French Montana

10. Me And My Money Ft. Gucci Mane

11. So Paid Ft. Red Cafe & 2 Chainz

12. Take My City Ft. B.o.B. & Crooked I

13. Lockdown Ft. Ya Boy & Akon

14. Oh My (Remix) Ft. Trey Songz, 2 Chainz & Big Sean


B.o.B has released a preview of his upcoming single, “Strange Clouds,” which debuts on October 3rd. The track features Lil Wayne and will appear on Bobby Ray’s upcoming sophomore album.

50 CENT TALKS PLAYGROUND BOOK reports 50 Cent is speaking up on why he wanted to release his second book, Playground, which tells the story of a boy struggling with bullies. 50 stated, “This book would have been very helpful for me growing up and now that I have a teenage son, it is my goal that this will have a positive influence on all teenagers.” The semi-autobiographical novel is available for pre-order on now. It hits bookstores on November 1st.

· The rapper’s other literary efforts include From Pieces to Weight and The 50th Law.


During an interview with, Pharrell Williams revealed that he’s been working on Frank Ocean’s upcoming debut album. The hitmaker said of the Odd Future member, “He’s super talented. To me he’s like the black James Taylor. He’s lyrical—he’s got a great perspective and super sick melodies. I haven’t seen anybody bob and weave through chords with such catchy melodies in a long time—that’s why I liked working with him.” No word on when the project will hit stores.


According to, Kendrick Lamar has spilled new details on where Dr Dre is at with his long-awaited Detox LP. The rap rookie stated, “Detox is getting mixed. That’s all I can say. It’s getting mixed. I could say anything about Detox, nobody would ever believe me.” Kendrick, who contributed to the set, added, “The creative process is so crazy as far as going in there and narrowing down all these songs. Thousands of songs [to pick from].” A launch date is not known at this time.


While working on his upcoming album, Love After War, Robin Thicke revealed that he’s teamed up with Lil Wayne on a song called “Pretty Little Heart.” In addition, the disc will include collaborations with Pharrell Williams, Faith Evans, Usher and Maxwell. As previously mentioned, the follow-up to 2009’s Sex Therapy lands on November 18th.

· Robin and Wayne previously worked together on “Tie My Hands,” “All Night Long” and “Shooter.”


According to Juvenile is back in the studio and working with Mannie Fresh on a new album titled Rejuvination. Juve told XXL, “Mannie Fresh doing most of the beats on this album. We trying to get the mix straight on the single.” While details are sparse, the LP will have features from Drake, Lloyd and Rick Ross.

· Mannie Fresh and Juvenile haven’t worked together in a decade.


According to, John Legend’s executive produced family sitcom has been picked up by NBC. The show, Mixed Blessings, reportedly follows “a prominent, black, street-bred hip-hop artist enjoying his single life who discovers that he has a teenage son and decides to connect with him and his white suburban family.” This is the singer’s first venture into television.

· Here are further details on the series: “The show explores the culture clash and the complicated journey of a father and son beginning their relationship as the dad soon discovers that fame, talent, and wealth get you nowhere when it comes to parenting.”


During a recent appearance on MSNBC’s Morning Joe, Common had nothing but high praise for Nas. The rapper, who was promoting his new book, One Day It’ll All Make Sense, stated, “Nas is so poetic with it and I feel like his lyrics, you can write ‘em down on paper and they will last for time. It would be like literature that we read.” In related news, Common’s upcoming album, The Dreamer, The Believer, is due out on November 22nd.


Lady Gaga has reached out to President Obama to try to set up a meeting to discuss hate crimes following the death of 14-year-old Jamey Rodemeyer last weekend. Gaga wants Obama to enact laws making bullying a hate crime. Rodemeyer, who had posted an “It Gets Better” video in May about his long struggle with bullying at school, took his life on Sunday after what his parents said was years of taunting over his sexuality. In his video, Rodemeyer cited Gaga as an inspiration and on Wednesday, Gaga expressed her sadness over Rodemeyer’s death via Twitter, writing: “The past days I’ve spent reflecting, crying, and yelling. I have so much anger. It is hard to feel love when cruelty takes someone’s life.” She added that bullying “must become illegal. It is a hate crime.”

· MTV’s ongoing A Thin Line project provides stories and resources for anyone who believes they are being cyberbullied or who are looking for ways to stop harassment by digital means.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: