REST IN PARADISE AALIYAH: A PERSONAL MESSAGE FROM ME


REMEMBERING AALIYAH 10 YEARS LATER

I still remember the night when I heard the news about Aaliyah’s plane crash in 2001. I was doing weekends at KTHT HOT 97.1 in Houston at the time. I believe it was a Saturday night, we were mixing… just looked at the calendar, it was a Saturday. I remember this night so well because; one, I’m pretty sure this was the first death I ever announced on-air and  two, I was a fan.  I didn’t know how to tell the listeners, we went over how to do the break and then the time came. The phone calls poured in – some people were crying asking: “why did she get on that plane?” “are they sure it’s her?”… others remained in disbelief, some thought it was a joke. As I’m typing this, I’m thinking about not just her death, but the many I’ve announced in my career… it’s not easy to do. So many people, emotions and more involved, especially when you knew them. But that night; that moment… will stay with me forever. She was another person/artist I never got to meet and who I would have loved to interview and gotten to know.

Today, many people in media will be doing tributes to honor her music and her life. Some will do it for the love of her; some for the attention or publicity. To each their own.

Every year on the Anniversary of her death, since I’ve been on-air, we’ve done some sort of tribute. This year will be no different (except the fact I don’t have a “full-time” slot) Here’s Dj Rockwell’s Tribute to Aaliyah, one of the best of all time.

Thanks for reading,

CRISCO

R.I.P. AALIYAH “Baby Girl” HAUGHTON

CLICK THE PLAYER OR LINK BELOW TO LISTEN OR DOWNLOAD THE MIX

Dj Rockwell AALIYAH MIX

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

