July album Releases x Beyonce #1 x Usher & Rihanna??? x MTV Music News


BEYONCE DEBUTS AT NUMBER ONE ON BILLBOARD!

 

Beyonce has done it! The singer has secured the number one spot on the Billboard 200 chart after her latest album, 4, sold over 310-thousand copies in its opening week. The news marks the singer’s fourth consecutive number one album. In addition, the diva has become the third artist, following Britney Spears and DMX, to see their first four studio albums debut atop the Billboard 200.

· The project is the lowest opening week of Beyoncé’s career. 2008’s I Am … Sasha Fierce entered with 482-thousand, B’Day sold over 541-thousand in 2006, and her debut, Dangerously in Love, arrived in 2003 with 317k.

DR DRE CONTRIBUTES TO GAME’S R.E.D. ALBUM

Need another reason to be interested in Game’s upcoming R.E.D. Album? The West Coast rapper recently told MTV News that “this album is the most incredible out of my career.” He added that he’s excited Dr Dre is contributing guest verses on the project, which is being executive produced by Pharrell Williams. Fans can expect R.E.D. Album to hit stores August 23rd.

· The disc features production from Cool & Dre, Hit-Boy, Maestro and Lex Luger, and features Nelly Furtado, Lil Wayne and Busta Rhymes.

RIHANNA TALKS INTIMIDATING MEN

In the July issue of Cosmopolitan, Rihanna spoke about what kind of guys she likes. But more importantly, the singer explained why it’s difficult for most men to even approach her. Ri Ri stated, “It can definitely be intimidating to guys to date someone in this industry. And it’s really hard to find a guy who doesn’t care about that stuff.” Rihanna promised that she could see herself with a regular dude and added, “I’m turned on to a guy by different things. It could be the way he looks. It could be his intelligence. It’s really a spontaneous thing. I get bored quickly. So if someone can make me laugh, that’s the best.” To read more, go to Cosmopolitan.com.

AND SPEAKING OF…

WAIT…USHER MADE OUT WITH RIHANNA?

 

 

During an interview with Fabolous magazine, Usher dropped some interesting news when he explained why he can’t add Rihanna to his “hit-list.” After describing the pop star as “beautiful,” the crooner spilled “she’s not necessarily on my hit-list – she’s like my sister right now. Or cousin – we have kissed.” It’s still not known if the pair just shared a one-time peck or had an actual fling.

· As for his love life, Usher also said in the mag, “Companionship is important – every man should have a woman to make him better. I’m dating at the moment – not anyone in particular, but I have a few people I’m interested in.”

GUCCI MANE RELEASED FROM JAIL

Gucci Mane has been released from jail! After serving three months for probation violation, the emcee celebrated his freedom by visiting a strip club in Atlanta, Georgia. The news comes just a day after MTV News reported the troubled rapper was in police custody for allegedly pushing a woman out of a moving vehicle back in early April.

· Gucci’s latest album, The Return of Mr. Zone 6, is available in stores now.

PITBULL SHOOTS NEW VIDEO WITH MARC ANTHONY

Pitbull recently shot the video for his new single, “Rain Over Me,” in the Southern California desert. The video, which was shot near Palm Springs, California, features Latin superstar Marc Anthony. You can see a teaser clip of the video at PlanetPit.com. Pitbull has the number one song on the Billboard Hot 100 chart this week with “Give Me Everything,” featuring Afrojack, Ne-Yo and Nayer.

EMINEM SETS DIGITAL CHART ALBUM RECORD

News recently broke that Eminem’s Recovery has set a new record after he sold over one-million digital copies of the album in the U-S. If that’s not enough, Slim Shady also became the first artist in the last five years to have two albums debut at number one on the Billboard 200 chart.

· The news comes just a few weeks after we reported Em’s latest project, Hell: The Sequel, took the top spot on the chart last month.

· Em’s upcoming tour stops include headlining slots at Lollapalooza in Chicago on August 6th and the V Festival in the U-K on August 20th and 21st. Visit Eminem.com for all upcoming dates.

JOHN LEGEND INVESTS IN WATER COMPANY

What’s John Legend been up to lately? He has reportedly invested in a San Francisco-based water company called HINT, Inc. The singer, who is currently on tour with Sade, said in a statement, “I enjoy drinking HINT water because it’s refreshing without tasting sweet or artificially flavored,” He added, “I joined them as an investor not only because I actually drink HINT water, but also because I truly believe in both the product and its ‘Drink Water, Not Sugar’ message and I am excited to watch the company grow.”

· The zero calorie drink is sold in stores including Albertsons and Bristol Farms.

CEE-LO & MORE AT MLB ALL-STAR GAME

Tuesday’s Major League Baseball All-Star Game is going to be about more than just America’s Pastime. That’s because some very prominent music artists are going to be involved as well. According to USA Today, Cee-Lo will be performing at the MLB All-Star Gala, an event that takes place on Monday. Then, before the actual game on Tuesday, Jordin Sparks will be singing the National Anthem. And if all that weren’t enough, Michelle Branch is performing “God Bless America” during the seventh inning stretch. Be sure to watch the game this Tuesday night at 8 PM Eastern on FOX.

· The game is taking place in Phoenix, Arizona.

BOW WOW PENS OPEN LETTER ABOUT HIS CHILD

We previously reported that Bow Wow’s mother broke the news that her son conceived a healthy baby girl named Shai. The rapper penned an open letter about his first child and explained why he didn’t want to break the news at first. Here’s what he said:

“Let me start off by saying I love my fans. Without yall I would’ve been left the game. For the past three years I’ve been battling life. Even thought about taking my own. I felt like as a kid I did everything and saw everything too fast, which spoiled my adult years. I felt as if I had no purpose to live (Thinking selfishly) until God gave me the illest gift of my life. No lambo, no black card nothing amounts to my lil girl. I waited so long to tell yall the truth, because I was nervous on how yall would look at me. Yall know everyone makes a big deal out of everything I do. I wanted to be first and let yall know the real. My lil girl is getting BIG fast. I love every minute of it. She inspires me to go harder. Even made me treat my mother better, it’s like it made me into a man over night. Never been a fan of posting pix of my daughter. Reason is because I want my boo boo to have everything I didn’t. Want her to be able to cheerlead with her lil friends without some asshole sticking his camera all in my lil girl face. I know how fame is. I missed out on so much that I now know how important it is to cherish and have those things in your life. Yes! I change diapers. Ain’t as bad as I thought hahaha. I want her to live with me so bad. Jus us 2. Thats my dream man but fellas yall know how it go. Baby gotta stay with they momma and all dat bull. I hate that! So I have to fly 5 hrs away to see her. I find myself going into my iPhone book just looking at pix of her. Sometimes I tear up because I just can’t believe it. All in all, I’m good. This is my 1st. I know all my fans gone support me and ride for her like yall been doing my whole career. To the ones that say “I’m heartbroken how can he do that to us” well I do have a life that’s not all about movies or making albums. I’m 24 now. I can’t wait forever. I’m happy and if you’re a fan then you’d be happy too because yall gone be with me every step of the way. The bs that comes with having a baby momma is expected. So I never trip. Jus gotta suck it up, keep chin high and try not let her get the best of my feelings by playing them stupid games. Ima stay positive and keep maintaining long as I got yall I can’t lose. I love yall. And shai shai daddy love u too! Wizzle!!!!”

MICHELLE WILLIAMS READIES COMEBACK LP

With Kelly Rowland and Beyonce focusing on their solo careers, the third member of Destiny’s Child, Michelle Williams, is working on a new project also. The singer said of the disc, “My album will be ‘inspirational pop.’ Think of Katy Perry’s ‘Fireworks’ or Natasha Beddingfeld’s ‘Unwritten.’ I want to give people a message of hope while at the same time get them moving with dance inspired tracks.” The follow-up to 2008’s Unexpected does not yet have a release date.

· The disc will include contributions from Rico Love and Jim Jonsin.

· You can now check out her buzz track, “Love Gun,” via ConcreteLoop.com.

KERI HILSON EXCITED FOR I AM STILL MUSIC TOUR

Lil Wayne has just announced that he’s decided to extend his I Am Still Music Tour. The rapper’s successful outing will now continue all the way until mid-September. The trek will reportedly include new supporting acts like Lloyd, Keri Hilson and Far East Movement. Fans will also be able to see Rick Ross, who was a part of the first leg of the tour. The show, which covers nearly 40 cities, will begin on July 13th at the Comcast Theater in Hartford, Connecticut and wraps on September 11th at the Woodlands Amphitheatre in Woodlands, Texas. To learn more, visit Wayne’s official websites, WeAreYoungMoney.com and WeezyThanxYou.com.

NEW BOYZ GO PLATINUM WITH “BACKSEAT”

The New Boyz have scored two hit singles off their new album, Too Cool To Care. The duo has sold over one-million copies of their single, “Backseat” featuring Dev and The Cataracts, and are now riding the success of “Better With The Lights Off,” featuring Chris Brown. You can see the New Boyz’s neon video for “Better with the Lights off” at TheNewBoyz.com.

· The New Boyz have sold just over one-million copies of “Backseat” since it was released five months ago.

· The New Boyz star in Mario Van Peebles’ new film, We The Party, which should be out later this year.

UPCOMING HIP HOP ALBUM RELEASES

July is looking to be a big month for hip-hop album releases. In the coming weeks, fans can anticipate Cali Swag District’s The Kickback and the late Pimp C’s Still Pimpin to be released Tuesday. That following Tuesday, DJ Khaled’s We the Best Forever drops, as does Black Robs’ Game Tested, Streets Approved while Wu-Tang Clan’s comeback effort, Legendary Weapons, arrives on July 26th. Fans should also mark their calendars for Jay-Z and Kanye West’s highly anticipated joint album, Watch The Throne, which is due out on August 2nd.

July 5

Lloyd – King of Hearts

July 12

Cali Swag District – The Kickback

Crooked I – Planet C.O.B.

Hodgy Beats & Left Brain (MellowHype) (OFWGKTA) – Blackenedwhite

Pimp C – Still Pimpin

The Cool Kids – When Fish Ride Bicycles

July 19

DJ Khaled – We the Best Forever

July 26

Black Rob – Game Tested, Streets Approved

Jay Rock – Follow Me Home

Wu-Tang Clan – Legendary Weapons

BRITNEY SPEARS TWEETS SUPPORT FOR NICKI MINAJ

Britney Spears took to Twitter to show her support for Nicki Minaj after the death of Nicki’s cousin. Spears tweeted to fans to “keep up the amazing love and support” for her Femme Fatale tourmate. Minaj’s cousin was murdered near his home in Brooklyn, and it is speculated that his killing was a result of mistaken identity.

PIA TOSCANO SIGNS DEAL; PREPS DEBUT SINGLE!

Former American Idol contestant Pia Toscano has signed a recording contract with Interscope Records. The Queens, New York native, who was shockingly voted off Idol, will release her debut single, “This Time,” on Tuesday. Toscano will perform the song all summer long on the road with the American Idols Live! 2011 Tour, which is now underway and concludes on September 10th in Rochester, New York. The song was written and co-produced by Esther Dean, who is known penning hits for such artists as Nicki Minaj, Katy Perry, Mary J. Blige, Christina Aguilera, Rihanna and many more.

· Pia Toscano released the following statement: “I am thrilled to be joining the Interscope and 19 Recordings family. (Interscope Geffen A&M Chairman) Jimmy Iovine was an amazing mentor during my time on Idol and I’m looking forward to working with him and everyone at Interscope Records and 19 Recordings. This is a dream come true.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

